12 comments on “Promise SmartStor NS4300N Review

  1. i think you had a defective unit. I use this in same enviroment with various MSFT OS’s without any problem. Never had a drop or file error moving very large files and even opened it up as FTP server for a few weeks to the web, without issue. Did you have this connected to a questionable power source ?

  2. I too, do not have any drops with this unit. I do, however, feel that it is a lot noisier than it needs to be (the fan never seems to spin down, regardless of the ambient temperature.)

  3. I was using the NAS connected to an APC SmartUPS. It is possible it was a bad unit, but I couldn’t live with the throughput compared to my fileserver. I am planing on building an new fileserver and using onboard/addon SATA RAID.

  4. i has also problem with huge transfers, their support recomended me to move to GB switch, i changed my 100mb switch to GB switch, and it’s run no problem. i fulled it with data. i think it’s good but slow. i think to buy Lime Technology storage ($1300 for 15 disks)

  5. In my ns4300n i have used the latest SP4 firmware over the week. I found that when RAID1 (mirrored) paired with “snapshot on”, with bt plugin running, the performance is horrible.It rebooted itself for multiple instances, one with ‘e911’ code .I turned off snapshots, performance ‘doubled’ . Although I have been able to get 20-25MB/s TX from the box (when snapshot & bt are off)7-11MB/s RX … sometimes it drops to 6.3MB/s if I move files from one volume to another one within the box . it was used to be 6+MB/s with previous firmware …one thing I have noticed (which they have removed from the SP4 revision doc since last week), is that they have added a “smartFan” feature (which only available on RevB boards, not rev A1) . I don’t see that option in the PASM tho . i think i have an A1 .hope they can fix this thing asap… my housemate is getting so annoyed by the fan .

  6. How do you use the BT Server? I downloaded the plug-in and enabled the server, but have not idea what to do next. Is there a specific port I need to HTTP to?

  7. Regarding how to use the BT downloader feature – first of all you have to upgrade to the lastest firmware for the device as of May 2008. Then you have to download and use the “SmartNAVI” software from the downloads section of the promise.com site. I’ve also bought this SmartStor 4300N unit from Fry’s and have also been vastly disappointed at its performance. I wonder what the bottleneck is and if there will ever be a way to fix it? I would just return the product but I no longer have the packaging.

  8. I replaced the two fans with Xsilence fans, and now the unit is almost non-audible. Also, average temperature is 2 degrees lower than before… :-)The BT-Client is best controlled using Sancho, since it appears to be a plain MLdonkey drivate… Try avoiding the SmartNAVI software, it’s mostly useless.I started out with Firmware SR3, now running SR5 – Never had any reliability issues. Yes, the speed could be better, but not for the price. If I have had 200 € more to spare, I’d probably gone for a Thecus unit.

  9. I too wanted to use this unit as a server replacement when I lost the mainboard on my server. I solved the noisy fan issue by putting it in another room. :-) I had great hopes for this unit but this is the 2nd time in 6 months that it has let me down. I have been running arrays for about 13 years now and I have NEVER had anything this unreliable. I have run it in RAID 5 & RAID 10 configurations with two different sets of drives, with the same end result; rebuild from backups. I'm currently building another Linux box as I type this. One really good thing about this unit is it forces one to make frequent, regular backups! I wouldn't recommend this unit to anyone you like.Pete / Seattle, WA.

  10. I have had this unit for some months now, and am getting more frustrated. Although I have had no failures, I find the system is poorly documented and features difficult to access. The PC tools SmartSYNC simply does not work! And now I find that I can't SSH in to find the RSYNC settings without a "HACK". This system was not cheap and I could have better spent the money on an actual Linux box with RAID capability, also I have had excellent results with the Synology Busybox implementations. Conclusion. AVOID!

Leave a comment