135 comments on “Clear WiMax Follow-up

  1. Anyone figure out how to get to the config screens for the new Clear "Series G" modem? I hassled Clear's local store about the horrid Motorola modem's problems until they exchanged it for the new "Series G" made by Gemtek. This solved one major problem but this new box forces my router to obtain a new DHCP lease every 30 minutes.I've just about had it with Clear, looking at other options. We had 3+ years of nearly perfect service with the "old" system and nothing but problems with this wimax junk.

  2. Follow-up: after a software upgrade, the new "Series G" modem has the same management interface as the old Motorola (192.168.15.1 | CLEAR123).

  3. Looks like the G series might be able to have an antenna attach directly to it according to this webpage, http://www.wirelessgoodness.com/2010/03/19/teardown-under-the-hood-of-clears-wixb-175-series-g-modem/. Anyone know if this person is right in this forum? http://www.rfwel.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1592#post1592. Could be nice if it actualy works. Here is a link to an external antenna adapter for the new usb modem http://www.rfwel.com/shop/product.php?productid=1934.

  4. I have the old home modem and want the newer M modem but the live chat rep said no and that they are both the same modem with no performance difference. I'm in the Chicago market but out in Aurora. I get 3-4 bars but only get around 2.6mbps on download. I'm on the fastest plan with Clear and am leasing the modem. I went into Best Buy and talked to one of the Clear reps and he actually entered my address and he showed me a site that he said that he doesn't show all customers. The site showed the around about speed that you will get at your actual address. I forgot what it was called but it only showed me getting 3mbps max for my location. Even though my plan calls for 6mbps+. If I knew that when I signed up for this slow service I would of never done so.

  5. Hey Craig, I am a Clear Field tech for the Aurora, IL service area, what that chat rep told you was kind of accurate, unlike Chicago where the M would make a slight difference, in Aurora the M does not, however if you are a current clear customer, I would be happy to try it out for you as I have my own CI-M RSU, and if i see it improves I will do the swap. My email is ninoriff@metrostarr.com :)

  6. Now that Spring is here, I am seeing massively degraded performance in Atlanta, GA: Where I was getting 8-10Mbps throughout most of the Winter, my speeds have dropped to 2-3Mbps- and on some nights it will not get over 1.5Mbps (even before Clear starts capping my speeds).I was at 18-22db CINR on my modem (which I am told is a better rating of signal strength), but I am now getting 7-9db.The only thing that appears to have changed is the growth on the trees…Anyone else seeing similar results- or is it just me?

  7. I don't know if it's related to leaf growth (it may, come to think of it), but my signal, which had been a solid 3 bars, dropped to 2-sometimes-1 bars lately. I finally got around to playing with my modem orientation the other day, and I'm now getting 2-or-3 bars pointing about 90 degrees off from the previous direction(and I get 2 bars in almost any direction).I've noticed in the config screen that I'm 'hearing' 5 or 6 towers now, rather than the 1 I originally received, so I suspect I'm now hitting a tower that wasn't previously online.

  8. There are Two towers near me. I am in the DFW Market near 35W and 820. One tower is approx 6 blocks away and the other tower is about 4-5 miles line of site. My balcony faces the further tower. Inside my second story apartment I get 1 to none on bars. Placing the modem outside facing the furthest tower I get a stable 2. Now I placed the modem higher on a wooden table about 4 feet high, wrapped a flat band of aluminium foil taped where the antennas are located on the inside and made a 90 degree corner reflector out of wood and aluminium foil (shiny side out) and now I get 4 to almost steady 5 bars however when on a stead Download I still at best ever get 500kbs. The modem is upright and facing the furthest antenna. When I try to bounce of the buildings to hit the closer tower – I don't get any improvement. Any suggestions? if you would like pictures I can post some.

  9. I've had one of the "G" series modems for a few months. I live up high (30th floor), in a dense coverage area (Honolulu), but reception has always been challenging.For a while I was getting 4 and occassionally 3 bars, but recently it went downhill to two bars, and my throughput literally dropped to ~30kbps (speedtest would actually fail, but you could see it on the modem status page).Anyhow, I finally cracked it open, and you can the antenna is definitely attached via two U.FL connectors. I just ordered an 2.5GHz-2.7GHz 14db panel from l-com (44.95 + s&h). Oddly enough, I have a U.FL to N-type pigtail lying around :)I'll let you know how it goes in a couple of days when the antenna arrives.

  10. so the new antenna is currently slightly better than the built in one (4-5 bars vs. 3-4), but I have a pretty crappy 3 foot cable I had to use as a temporary workaround (my pigtail has a female N, as does the antenna). A new pigtail is on the way that will eliminate that one, so hopefully I will see more improvement soon. It would be nice to stay over 20 dB on the CINR. I have spec'd out a cantenna and will probably build and try that as well.

  11. The part is a Murata MM8430-2610. It is designed to be a test port, and not to be used as an antenna port. However, they sell a Measurement Probe with a sma jack on the end. Its kind of large and I am not sure how it would fit, or if it would stay.Probe Part #: MXHS83QE3000 – http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Murata/MXHS83QE3000/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMubtgSkrSNnXJWwA8y4mimQHpjZJwH0SwU%3DCheck out this PDF –http://www.murata.com/products/catalog/pdf/k99/k99e_l0390.pdf

  12. Oh and I tested the port with a short copper wire into the port and an antenna setup that was previously hooked up to Xohm router in Baltimore before the switch to Clear. The signal improved from around 2-3 bars to an instant 5 bars.

  13. Question about antenna mods: Doesn't MIMO require multiple independent antennas? So, is it possible to attach a single antenna and get imporoved performance?(On second thought, the MIMO could be multiple base-stations, with single CPE antennas.)Anyone know the definitive answer? What type of MIMO does Clear 4G WiMax use?

  14. I'm working with hsand on this and have successfully mated the murata testconnector 81-MXHS83QE3000 from mouser.com to an 18 dB panel antenna. My rssi went from -70 to -50 and my cinr went from 21 to 35. Details will be posted soon.

  15. I'm in an inner Salt Lake City suburb, and am about to toss Clear and go back to Qwest DSL. I've switched from the Series G to the Series M modem, but that has made no change in the 36h I've had it installed. Typical signal is 2 (occ 3) bars, and I get booted off about every hour, with the "fix" being to hardboot the modem (and wait 5 min for it to reacquire a signal *sigh*) Pings are 140ms+ with 40ms jitter, and data rates are generally sub-1.5 MBsClear TS has not been much help (and don't get me started in the dumbos that tried to install the Clear equipment when I ordered it!). The most recent "help" I got was that I needed to have the modem, the VoIP box and the DLink 615 router each 3 feet away from the other, and that all three had to be plugged "directly into the wall, not into a power strip". This smacks of "voodoo electronics" to me, but hey, I'm only an IEEE member, what do I know? I would love to have an external antenna option, as I suspect that the metal roof on my house is not helping the signal strength or quality.

  16. OK… have just moved the Series M WiMax modem to on top of the router (which is on top of an external HD, which is on top of the computer ), and placed a hard placemat wrapped in aluminum foil underneath it. This has me up to 4 bars, and a Ping range (SLC to Denver) of 122-124ms, a DL range of 1.17-4.92Mbs, and an UL range of 0.12-0.19Mbs (5 sequential tests using speedtest.net on Firefox)Better but not great.

  17. also: I have found that the modem placement indoors is *extremely* sensitive to position and orientation. In other words not only do you need to "aim" the modem, but moving it as little as an inch or two on any of the 3 axes will make a noticeable difference in signal strength. You'd think higher would be better, but I recently found that mounting high on the first floor gives better signal than high on the 2nd floor – I suspect because asphalt shingles are excellent at blocking high freq signals.

  18. The metal sheet acts as a baseplane and a reflector.I agree about the challenge of small changes in location or orientation having significant effects. That's part of why an external antenna is appealing.

  19. Broo, I'm trying to setup a FTP server and for the life of me I can't not set it up, I'd spent lots of time searching for solutions, I'm starting to think that the clear modem may be at fault or improperly setup, I'd applied the DMZ and firewall deactivation you suggested above,if you would share a tips it would be awesome.

  20. I did a mod on my Sprint cpe-25150 after seeing this blog. I had an old Netgear g router and took it apart. The antenna connector for the Netgear and the 25150 seemed to be compatible. I get much better service than I did before the mod. It has been 3 days now and my signal is much more steady. I have this sitting in a basement window at ground level, obviously not the most optimum location. Here's some pics of the modem with the antenna.http://s143.photobucket.com/albums/r153/zaskarr/CPE25150%20mod/

  21. Some info that may be helpful. I have found that clear unit that has built in local WIFI output works faster when the WIFI is shut off and an external router used instead. The WIFI output provided by the modem with that feature puts out an much stronger signal than usual routers have. The WIFI feature can be shut off by communication to the Modem via the ethernet connection.

  22. You might try this! I'm in the Clearwire market area, I'm in an disadvantaged geographical area. I was getting one bar on my modem, I simply made a dish from a coat hanger and aluminum foil, it gave me a steady three bars. So you should at least get one more. Hope it works for you.P.S. I'm just as frustrated as everyone else that I have to be concerned with antenna modifications and such!

  23. I put my clear in the attic. When I had it in my kitchen I would get 3 bars and now I have 5 bars. I put it in my attic and connected a router at one end of the house and another router on the other side…its like a triangle. One of the routers has a static IP. Everyroom has full WiFo with 4G access…or what CLEAR calls 4G..LOL

  24. I have an Motorola outdoor WiMax modem. Does anyone know how to do a HARD reset. I think I may have changed a setting and I can no longer access the modem. Clear says it is online.Thanks

Leave a comment