4 comments on “Clear ‘Unlimited’ Plans

  1. I recently started using clear and trying to enable access to a webcam externally. I disabled the firewall in the modem, enabled DMZ, but when I use the external IP address of my network from another network to access the webcam I get link broken. What am I missing (and Clear tech support is less than helpful)??

  2. No luck on getting a consistent 5 LED link- and I will probably end up having my account terminated due to usage, so this has gone down on my priorities. :)As for the question about webcam acccess, you will need to setup port forwarding in the modem- or make sure that your webcam is receiving the DMZ address. Most webcams will use port 80, but some others require additional ports for video/audio streaming, remote control, etc. If you are using the DMZ address on your webcam, make sure you are trying the connection in IE (not Firefox/Chrome/Safari/etc) as a good majority of the webcams require Active-X installs to view remotely. (Some use Java/Flash and can be used in Firefox/etc).

  3. Success with ClearWire opening ports Now have webcam accessible from the outside. Was a mistake in which IP to forward through the modem. Even with the lowest BW plan, response is pretty good.Thanks for the pointers

Leave a comment